Click here to download an Application Form for ATV ORV ORM Snowmobile & Boats (pdf format)
ATV ORV ORM & Snowmobile Registrations:
- Registrations expire December 31st of each year. A $5.00 penalty will be added to all delinquent registrations beginning January 1st.
- Renewal period for ATV, ORV, ORM & Snowmobiles begin September 1st annually.
- Click here for ATV, ORV, ORM & Snowmobile Fees.
- Transfers require a bill of sale and title signed by the seller. Click here for a Bill of Sale.
- Snowmobiles require an additional User Permit if being used on public land or ice.
- Boats are renewed every three years. Registrations expire April 30th, 2022. Beginning May 1, 2022, a vessel with an expired registration cannot operate on public Iowa waters. A $5.00 penalty fee for all delinquent boat registrations will charged beginning July 1st, 2022.
- Renewal period for boats begins January 1st every third year.
- Click here for the 2022-2025 Boat Registration Fees.
- Transfers require a bill of sale, registration, and title (if applicable*) signed by the seller. Click here for a Bill of Sale.
*Boats will be titled if they are 17 feet or longer, or if the boat has or ever had a lien. Once a Boat is titled, it will always stay titled.
Boating Registration Guide - click here for boat registration Q & A.
- In office – Cash, check, or credit card (an additional 0.03% processing fee will apply for credit card transactions).
- By mail – Please add $1.00 for postage per transaction. Cash or check. Please include your name, address, phone number and the VIN/HIN or IA Registration Number of the vehicle/vessel you are renewing.
- By phone with credit card – An additional 0.03% credit card processing fee will apply, plus $1.00 for postage per transaction.
Be prepared to provide us with your driver’s license or social security number and your date of birth along with the VIN/HIN or IA Registration Number of the vehicle/vessel you are renewing.New ATVs, ORVs, ORMs, Snowmobiles and Boats must be registered in the Recorder’s Office in the county you reside in.
Iowa House File 2130:
This law allows for off highway vehicles to be operated on Iowa roads effective July 1, 2022.
- The OHV must be registered with the DNR and display current registration.
- The operator must be at least 18.
- The operator must carry proof of insurance.
- Cannot exceed 35 mph.
The OHV must be registered for off highway use with the DNR in order to be operated on Iowa roads. Please refer to the D.O.T. if you are unsure that your vehicle is appropriate for highway use.
House File 2130
Gypsum City OHV Park:
Gypsum City OHV Park Map
DNR-Designated OHV Park Rules.
OHV Park Map Trail Markers