Gun&Americanflagphoto

                                             
YOU CAN STOP IN THE OFFICE AT 702 1ST AVE SOUTH OR READ BELOW ON HOW TO PROCEED ONLINE.

  
Concealed Handgun Licensing: A person can print off the forms whether it is a
new application for permit to carry, a renewal, or a Permit to Acquire at their residence and fill
them out. You can either mail the information or stop in to the Sheriff’s Office at 702 1st Ave South, Fort Dodge Iowa 50501.   Also please include a colored copy of your identification (Driver’s License), which must be your current address, copy of your certificate of training showing you took the class,
along with a local check or money order.
If a renewal, make a copy  of all of the above and  your permit .
The prices for each is as follows, Renewal $25. or new $50.
You may also go to Iowa Department of
Public Safety and print out the forms.

New carry permit include: Application, Copy of Class Certificate of Training, or DD 214  Copy of Drivers License,
$50.00 local check or money order
Renewal carry of Permit: Application, copy of Drivers license, Colored copy of Permit, and 
$25.00 local check or money order.
Acquire permit: Application, copy of drivers license and $25.00 local check or money order

MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO WEBSTER COUNTY SHERIFF
702 1ST AVE SOUTH
FORT DODGE, IOWA 50501

http://www.dps.state.ia.us/asd/weapons/WP5.pdf CARRY
http://www.dps.state.ia.us/asd/weapons/WP3.pdf ACQUIRE


WHEN APPLYING FOR THE CARRY PERMIT YOU CAN PURCHASE WITH THIS PERMIT ALSO SO YOU DO NOT NEED TO FILL OUT BOTH FORMS. 



















     How to Get a Permit to Purchase a Gun

  1. Fill out an Iowa Permit to ACQUIRE PERMIT Weapons Application http://www.dps.state.ia.us/asd/weapons/WP3.pdf
  2. Come to the sheriff’s office between 8-4 MON-FRI
  3. We will run a criminal history background check.
  4. Come to the Law Enforcement Center at 702 1st Ave So Fort Dodge with a government issued photo ID with correct address and $25.00.  If you pass the background check, you will be issued a 5 year permit to acquire.  You will receive your weapon permit in the mail from the State of Iowa.

 

     How Do I Get a Permit to Carry a Gun?

  1. Fill out an Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons Application http://www.dps.state.ia.us/asd/weapons/WP5.pdf
  2. Complete a training class by a licensed instructor OR provide DD214 with an honorable discharge.
  3.  Bring  Application and certificate of training to the sheriff’s office between 9-11 & 2-4.
  4. We will run a criminal history background check.
  5. Come to the Law Enforcement Center at 702 1st Ave So Fort Dodge with a government issued photo ID with correct address and $50 NEW or $25.00 if a renewal. If you pass the background check, you will be issued a 5 year permit to carry.  You will receive your weapon permit in the mail from the State of Iowa.


             
                  
                  You can see recent weapon law changes the Dept of Public Safety site:     
                   http://www.dps.state.ia.us/asd/2017_WeaponsLawTransition_FAQ.pdf.