Board of Supervisors

District 1  Austin Hayek (R)
District 2  Mark Campbell (D)
District 3  Bob Thode (D)
District 4  Niki Conrad (D)
District 5  Nick Carlson (D)


The Board of Supervisors of Webster County consists of five members, each elected for four years.

Meetings are held every other Tuesday at 10:00 a.m. in the Supervisors room, 2nd Floor County Courthouse, unless otherwise posted.

To be placed on the Board’s agenda, contact Doreen Pliner, Webster County Auditor, at (515) 573-7175 or email

Budget and Financial Reports
Budget and Financial Reports are available from the Iowa Department of Management by clicking the link below.
Iowa Department of Management

Board of Supervisors Duties
The Board's duties are varied and its authority embraces practically every aspect of County Government. The Board acts as a general business manager for County Government and the following are some of the duties and powers:

  • Prepares the County Budget, determines tax requirements needed and levies taxes to raise revenue for expenditures.
  • Appoints and fixes salaries of certain offices, deputies, permanent and temporary help, and fills vacancies in elective county offices, except members of its own body. Vacancies in the Board of Supervisors are filled by appointment made by the County Auditor, County Treasurer and County Recorder.
  • Establishes policies and provides adequate funding in order to properly maintain the secondary roads system.
  • Is responsible for certain social welfare programs for the citizens.
  • Performs a variety of duties relating to agriculture and conservation, including participation in flood and erosion control, appointment of a Conservation Board, establishing drainage districts and zoning of County lands.
  • Makes official canvass of voters of the County following primary, general and special elections.
  • All bills paid by the County must be allowed by the Board of Supervisors before payment can be made by the County.
  • Approve Beer, Liquor and Cigarette licenses, sending these results to the Beer & Liquor Control Department in Ankeny, Iowa, for final approval.

The Board members appoint the following department heads, boards and commissions members:

Animal Control Officer
Board of Health Members
Buildings and Grounds Director
Community Services Director/CPC
Compensation Commission Members
Compensation Board Members
Conservation Director
Conservation Board Members
County Engineer
Information Technologies Manager


Medical Examiner
Planning and Zoning Director
Planning and Zoning Commission Members
Veterans Affairs Director
Veteran Affairs Commission Members
Weed Commissioner
Zoning Board of Adjustment Members
Judicial Magistrate Commission Member
Civil Service Commission Member

The Board members are also appointed to the following committees/boards and are liaisons for other county departments. 

Mark Campbell  Nick Carlson
Conference Board  Conference Board
County Buildings-Public Health/Bank  County Buildings - Courthouse
Growth City/County  Crime Stoppers
Ia Crossroads of Global Innovation Advisory Board  Ia Crossroads of Global Innovation Advisory Board
Insurance Committee  Insurance Committee
MH Advisory/Plan Committee  MIDAS Government Sharing Committee
Public Health  Public Health
Solid Waste Commission  Upper Des Moines
Niki Conrad  Austin Hayek
Conference Board  Beaver Creek Watershed Management Authority
Visit Fort Dodge  Conference Board
County Buildings-LEC  Drainage District No. 96 Rep
Department Head Meeting  Emergency Management
GFDGA Exec Committee  GFDGA Board Directors
Growth City/County  Growth Primary Sector Committee
Haz/Mat Response Committee  Ioway Watershed Management Authority
Hazmat Foundation  MIDAS Board
MH Advisory/Plan Committee (alternate)  North Racoon River Watershed Coalition
Second Judicial (alternate)  Webster County Drug Alliance
 Bob Thode  
Central Iowa Juvenile Detention  
Conference Board  
County Buildings-DHS  
E-911 Service Board  
Foster Grandparents  
GFDGA Board Directors  
Linking Families  
Second Judicial